An Article on Witchcraft in America and the Ignorance on Display in a Comment Section

There’s an article at The Guardian by Alex Mar entitled, “Witches of America: How I became immersed in a growing movement,” which is about the book she’d written while researching “fringe” pagan religions.

This is a pretty decent article on the Feri pantheon(denomination). I wish she could have emphasized that Feri isn’t the only path, but it was wonderful that she got her book published. I read about six comments and had to stop there before I grew very angry. I can be rather militant against ignorance, as many of my friends and acquaintances know. So I felt compelled to write a supportive comment. Here’s what I said:

“Huh. The amount of ignorance portrayed here is disgusting, and not altogether surprising.

I’d like to point out those who threatened to hex you aren’t practicing the Rede, and the Rule of Three. They’re like those Christians who condemn homosexuality and hold the bible up as proof that it’s considered an abomination, but then go thru life living out all the other abominations. In essence, cherry-picking. Feri isn’t my pantheon, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t legitimate. I for one believe that the more information about Wiccan and Witchcraft practices are brought into the cultural arena, the better. One only fears what they don’t understand. Or accept. I wish you could have emphasized far more clearly that Feri isn’t the only path, but well done on publishing this book.”

I could have written down what my pantheon was, but I didn’t deem it relevant.  I’m not a member of a coven.  To be more specific, I’m a Solitary practitioner.  My chosen belief system is an amalgamation of two ancestries:  Irish and Comanche.  I believe in the Divine Feminine, meaning that god is female.  Other pantheons, like Feri, believe in the equal divinity: Goddess and God.  I believe in magic, the magic of prayer, the spirit, the holiness of mother nature, and in the Wiccan Rede and Rule of Three.  Basically, do what you will as long as you harm no one, and Karma (respectively).  I believe in Reincarnation.  What type of reincarnation is up to the universe.  Wherever my soul goes next is wherever it’s supposed to go.  I believe in science, the laws of cause and effect, and they’re interwoven with Karma and Reincarnation.  In my mind, science and spirituality reside in the same space.

It always astonishes me how much fear there is in the human who refuses to believe that others have the Right to believe in whatever they want and it isn’t up to someone else to take it away.  Just because your chosen god demands you worship only him doesn’t mean my belief in a different deity has to be changed.  Live with it, and deal with it.  Stop your war-mongering and plethora of abuses toward others.  Go throughout your life with your beliefs as long as you don’t interfere with others’ right to do the same.  If you don’t, you’re only hurting yourself.  It follows the Wiccan Rede.

The Wiccan Rede has many variations that change according to the pantheon.  But the one that never changes is:

“‘an ye harm none, do what thou wilt.”
One version of the Rede reads as thus:
Bide the Wiccan Law ye must
In perfect love and perfect trust
Eight words the Wiccan Rede fulfill
An ye harm none, do what ye will
What ye send forth comes back to thee
So ever mind the Rule of Three
Follow this with Mind and Heart
Merry ye meet and merry ye part.
My version of the Rule of Three is:
Ever mind the Rule of Three
Three times what thou givest returns to thee
This lesson well thou must learn
The only gets what thou dost earn.
There are only a few religions today (Wicca, Witchcraft, Paganism, Hinduism, Buddhism, and the many variations of Native American spirituality) who do not subscribe to the idiotic belief that you need to spread the word and tell people they have to convert or they will rot in hell.  That’s an arrogant and egotistical way to run your life.  So much pain has been wrought on others thanks to that conscripted evil.
It is incumbent upon us to go another way, starting with saving our planet. And “mamby pamby touchy-feely hippy bullshit” is the only way of thinking that will lead us to a better future. You can’t “rule” the planet.  She’ll chew your ass up and spit out your bones.  We have to be stewards not owners.  How insane is it to shit where you eat?  Pipelines, Fracking, Monsanto, Abortion Clinic Bombing, Alt-Right, Terrorism, Donald Trump, War. It really won’t matter which religion or belief system is the “right” one if our arrogance causes our extinction.
Leave an opinion

