Revelations found within “The Secret History of Twin Peaks”

“The Secret History of Twin Peaks” is full of historical accuracies that blend with the supernatural mysteries in the Twin Peaks’ mythology. Among them are two things I didn’t know about (and thus our inept History classes in most public schools should be amended to include them).

  1.  Meriwether (accurate spelling) Lewis was assassinated by a double agent of Spain. To prove it once and for all, the descendants of Lewis petitioned the court to open his grave, which is positioned under a landmark in the forest in Missouri (or Louisiana, I forget my addled brain). The court agreed and ordered the Bureau of Parks and Recreation (managers of all historical landmarks) in 2010. The Bureau refused on the grounds that it would destroy the monument of a great historical figure. ?????????????????????????????
  2. Chief Joseph (aka Hinmatóowyalahtq̓it, or Hin-mah-too-yah-lat-kekt) was ordered by General Oliver Howard to move onto a reservation and the so-called authority for which was that Howard had “bought” the land thru a deal with another tribe. The truth is that white prospectors discovered gold in the Wallawa(sp?) valley and Howard wanted the money the government would give him in return for securing the land. This order to move them was a direct violation of a government treaty already established with the Nez Perce.

Surprise, surprise. Identical to DAPL and many other government/corporate seizures of Native American land out of greed (aka profit).
Chief Hinmatóowyalahtq̓it told Howard in a letter:

“Perhaps you think that the Great Spirit Chief sent you here to dispose of us as you see fit. If I thought you were sent here by the Great Spirit Chief, I might be induced to think that you had the right to dispose of me. Do not misunderstand me, but understand fully with reference to my people’s affection for this land.

“I never said this land was mine to do with as I choose. The only one who has the right to dispose of it is the one who created it. I simply claim a right to live on my land and accord you the privilege to return to yours. In treaty councils, commissioners have claimed that our country had been sold to your government.

“Suppose a white man should come to me and say, ‘Joseph, I like your horses and I want to buy them.’ I say ‘No’ to him. ‘No. My horses suit me. I will not sell them.’ Then he goes to my neighbor and says to him, ‘Joseph has some good horses and I want to buy them but he refuses to sell.’ My neighbor answers ‘Pay me the money and I will sell you Joseph’s horses.’ The white man returns to me and says, ‘Joseph, I have bought your horses and you must let me have them.’ If we sold our lands to the government, this is the way they were bought.”

Summary: Chief Hinmatóowyalahtq̓it was a hero, justly fighting against the government who stole his land, land that the Great Spirit Chief allowed him to seed. You cannot sell something that is not yours to sell, but our corrupt racist government does it all the time, and not just within the United States. So it is not surprising that this actual history is not taught in our schools.

Leave an opinion

